(CMP 60) The Snake Music

Music critics of L.A. Weekly voted The Snake Music one of ten best recordings of 1994.
"When Nauseef and Tadić invite other players into their music, they coil and circle around them, discreetly establishing the terms upon which the improvisation will develop, shaping the atmospheres. It's a subtle manoeuvering - snakes are never bombastic -and suddenly a musician as strong minded as, say, Jack Bruce is singing and playing a little differently.
Essentially, The Snake Music coils back on itself, to reveal - for those who do care to hear - the interconectedness of things..." (from the Liner Notes by Steve Lake)

  1. Lizard On A Hot Rock (Bruce / Nauseef / Tadić)
  2. The Wind Cries Mary (Hendrix)
  3. Peacock On A Hot Rock (Nauseef / Tadić / Puschnig / Stockhausen)
  4. Rope Ladder To The Moon (Bruce / Brown)
  5. Amarcord (N. Rota)
  6. Who Are The Brain Police (F. Zappa)
  7. Hamburg 2 (M. Tadić)
  8. All Souls Day (Nauseef / Tadić)
  9. Amarcord (N. Rota)
  10. Trio (Nauseef / Tadić / Stockhausen)
  11. Walls Of The Vortex (Nauseef / Tadić / Torn / Quintus)
  12. Fourths (M. Nauseef)

Mark Nauseef - drums and gongs
Miroslav Tadić - classical, slide and electric guitars
Wolfgang Puschnig - alto saxophone and hojak (a Korean oboe)
Markus Stockhausen - trumpet
David Torn - electric guitar
Walter Quintus - digitalia
Recorded in June 1992 and June 1993 at Ztudio Zerkall, Germany by Walter Quintus
Produced by Nauseef and Tadić with Kurt Renker and Walter Quintus
Photography by Miha Vipotnik
Art direction by Ulf von Kanitz